Poetry Recommendations

I must be true in this blog, so I’m going to admit that most poetry is a no for me. I hated every single poetry book I had to read for school and I really don’t see the hype surrounding most of them. I was never able to understand poetry, it had these words that I didn’t understand the meaning of and this metaphors that my brain couldn’t figure out, so I grew up hating it.

A year ago I found my place in poetry, I understood that not all of it was a puzzle for me, at least not the modern one. Nowadays people write in a different way, a way that is easier for me to keep up with, (please don’t think I’m dumb for not understanding classic poetry).

Now, I found voices that I can relate too, that tell me about power, society’s problems and life in general, not sad because life is not good, like classic poetry did many times, but happy because you’re alive and you have the power to change and be better. Now I have my favourite poems, poets and poetry collections.

Today, I thought about sharing with you some poetry recs.

 

 

 

I left my favourites for last, they are just amazing.

  • Broken Flowers by robert m drake:  this is probably one of the most famous poets in every social media you can imagine, if you look for rm drake, thousands of poems will pop up. Here are some of his poems:

 

 

  • ERIN HANSON: I am not even going to choose a book from her, she is my favourite poet, she wrote the poems that most feature in my journal and they were the ones who thought me how to like poetry. I don’t think she is very famous, but her poems are writen in a very simple way, talking about what’s worst in our society, life and the love for yourself.

 

My favourite Erin Hanson’s Poems:

88abe1ad5b4948ab4d21124264a8b9b7.jpg   eeeCapturar

 

Erin Hanson’s books:  Reverie: thepoeticunderground ; Voyage: thepoeticunderground 2 ; Dreamscape: thepoeticunderground 3

 

You can also find her poems on instagram: @thepoeticunderground


 

If you have some poetry recommendations, I would love if you told me about them. 

tumblr_static_filename_640_v2

One thought on “Poetry Recommendations

Leave a Reply

